Fig season has finally started!

Hey there, I’m back from my weekend trip to Berlin. When I arrived yesterday evening, I was SURE that the next blog entry would be about Eastern dishes. I ate lots of Turkish food the past days, which was absolutely delicious! But when I was about to buy some oriental spices, fresh figs caught my eyes. I really like figs, even though it was love at second sight. I only knew the dried version of them which tastes totally different compared to fresh ones. Last year I ate fresh figs in a restaurant and realized what I missed all the time: they are exquisite!

I was looking for figs everywhere since a few weeks. My greengrocer told me that they have season between September to November, so I was pretty disappointed when I found the first gingerbread before the figs last week. Well, since I found them today, I just have to share me favourite recipe with you. It is prepared in a few seconds, looks fantastic and tastes even better (at least if you like goat cheese).

Warm figs with goat cheese

2 fresh figs

~30g goat’s cream cheese

1/2 teaspoon honey

coloured pepper

balsamico reduction

Heat the oven to 175°C (350°F).

Carve the figs into quarters, but make sure not to cut through the whole shell, the fig shouldn’t fall to pieces. Crumble the cheese over the fig and put it into the oven for 10min. The cheese should get really soft.

Sprinkle a bit of the honey and balsamico over the fig and pepper it.


4 responses to “Fig season has finally started!

Leave a comment