Vegan experiments- today cakes.

The recipe that I would like to share today might cause mixed reactions : for vegan readers it might just be quite a normal cake recipe with lots of protein and fibre in it. For the rest this might sound like weird-greenie-geek-food because instead of  white flour, eggs or butter this cake contains beans. Yes, you read right, white beans you probably associate with a not-so-popular-over-here english breakfast.

I have to admit that I read about a bean-cake recipe weeks ago on the lovely vegan blog Choclate Covered Katie. A lot of comments assured that you don’t taste the beans in it. But still. Beans in a cake? This sounded like an experiment I had to try when no guests are expected ;)

I modified the ingrediants that they fit to the inventory of my cupboard and was amazed about the taste of the raw batter. Since there are no eggs in it I was brave and tested it. Ok, you got me, I always taste the raw batter, this is the  reason I bake in the first place!

The baked cake looks like a giant cookie and is very moisty inside. I after testing it, I was amazed that the cake really did taste like a sinfull, rich dessert. Of course there is sugar in it, but the rest of the ingrediants count as healthy food!

(magic) bean-cake

For a small spring form(18cm/7inch)

250g  canned white beans

 100g brown sugar 

7g vanille sugar

 1 very ripe banana

 50g oats

 1 teaspoon baking powder

 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 

2 tablespoons canola oil 

25g nugat (to veganize it, use dark choclate chips or if you like coconut grapes)

1.  Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F. Rinse the beans under Running water. Chop the nugat. Use 1 teaspoon oil to grease the form.

2. Blend all of the ingrediants but the nugat and in a food prossesor. Stir the nugat in and fill the batter in the greased form. Put it into the oven for about 40min, until it has a nice colour.

I used my nutella light from the last post as a frosting! But you can drop that or use any frosting you like!

Nutrition facts:

(without frosting)

1183 kcal

32,5g fat

26g protein

195 carbs


3 responses to “Vegan experiments- today cakes.

  • healthninja

    yum, vegan experimenting – I like! And the cake looks delish, have to try that soon. Do you have a kitchen in Beijing?

  • Tania

    I discovered your blog a couple of months ago when I was searching for vegetarian dishes. I keep it in my Feeder and look up some old recipes of yours now and then. I still like your blog so much! I just wanted to get this out and thank you! It is unfortunate that you do not blog anymore. I hope you are doing great (and enjoy whichever project replaced blogging :))
    All the best,
    Tania

Leave a comment